Isometry

Rotring Isograph on Bristol board. SOLD

15 Responses to “Isometry”

  1. Valerie in San Diego Says:

    Wow-ow. That is seriously brilliant. And it must have taken you forever. Fantastic!

  2. Sophia Says:

    Kafka would be very, very proud.

  3. Rose Says:

    The detail has me staring at one spot, while the movement of the lines has me following them from place to place. The creepy and mathematical quality reminds me of Escher. Cliche, I know.

    In less pretentious terms: I like! And I bet for more!

  4. Rose Says:

    …. and by ‘bet,’ I mean ‘beg.’

  5. Another Reader Says:

    Oh wonderful!

  6. Catofstripes Says:

    that last comment was me btw, sorry.

  7. isabelle Says:

    bloody hell, that’s brilliant.
    ( how big is it in real life? )

  8. Selena Says:

    Amazing…your biro work is always amazing. I know I’ve been pushing for paintings- but I’ve just decided to shut up about that.

    Just keep putting more ink on paper and keep these coming (…oops-no pun intended)

    Oh, one last thing-if this is to be a store, maybe there should be prices, or do you just love to haggle?

  9. notkeith Says:

    Valerie: Hello. And thanks. It did take a while, though not as long as I thought it would. Maybe because I’ve decided to focus on drawing rather than posting, so I can concentrate on that without feeling under any (entirely self-imposed) pressure.

    Sophia: Would he? I must admit to being something of a Kafka dunce. This does not preclude me from using the term “Kafkaesque” whenever I perceive someone is being oppressed in a slightly surreal manner. I’m taking it as a big-assed compliment, though. Thank you.

    Rose: Glad you like. And I’m immune to cliche when I’m being mentioned in the same breath as Escher. More stuff on the way. By which I mean I’ve done a rough pencil outline of something that’s going to take *weeks*. Might post some work-in-progress pics so no one thinks I’ve died.

    Catofstripes: Thank you. Terse you may be, but your comment has helped lift my spirits after a quite spectacular fucker of a day.

    Isabelle: Thanks! It’s A4. I’m going crazy with my next pic and entering the brave new world of A3. Try to stay calm.

    Selena: It’s actually Rotring 0.1 and 0.25 isograph rather than biro. Though I am returning to biro with my next pic. I’ve been drooling and weeping over the work of this chap: http://www.juanfranciscocasas.com/ of late and I’ve decided that I must become him or die. Really, anyone reading this should check out that link: he’s astonishing. Photo-realism in Bic Biro.

    Price? Eep. But if I want to sell stuff, I should be a little more brazen and man up, grow some, and put a price on its ass.

    £180 is, I think, a reasonable price. That values my time at roughly ten pounds per hour, which I don’t think is horribly unreasonable. Negotiable.

    Once again, thanks for all your lovely words.

  10. notkeith Says:

    Ooh, and if anyone’s interested in buying it, just drop me an email.

    Ta.

  11. Duck Says:

    It’s breathtaking. I love it.

  12. notkeith Says:

    Duck: Thank you. Pic in post.

    Also: the price I mentioned above is for what is by far the most time-consuming pic I’ve done. Older stuff would be considerably cheaper. If anyone’s interested.

    I’m sounding desperate already, aren’t I?

  13. Ssiter in China Says:

    Fantastic picture. Unlimited wealth would see it alongside up on my wall

  14. Shauno Says:

    Simply fantastic!

  15. nursemyra Says:

    Excellently creepy!

Leave a Reply

