The Prodigal Son

 

12 Responses to “The Prodigal Son”

  1. BΓͺte de Jour Says:

    You’ll never guess what I’ve found under your bed.

  2. Amanda Says:

    I know absolutely nothing about art, but I love the woman in a red dress.I’d like the heels on her shoes to be higher, that’s all.If I saw a print of it in a shop, I’d definitely buy it.

    You’re bound to miss London, Stan and the life you’ve left behind.But you’ve got the Pennines, which are so beautiful, and the best pie shops in the North West of England.

    Oh, and all of the people who read your blog and wish you all the luck in the world.

  3. Selena Says:

    Blue eyeshadow? Really? Actually, aside from that, she kind of looks like Dr. Spock (except female and sexy…) Can Vulcans be sexy? I also like the monster, except it looks like he’s been chewing on rocks.

    Diagnosis Murder? Murder She wrote? Figures that Mordor would only get programming from the late 80’s/ early 90’s? Does he watch Matlock too?

    Glad all is well with you and your family but, I bet the same can not be said for the fatted calf πŸ˜‰

  4. Catofstripes Says:

    Of course Vulcans can be sexy. I adored Mr. Spock from the moment I saw him. However I would not go to bed with this lady as her nose scares me.

    One of my earliest boyfriends swore he could achieve orgasm by rubbing his nose. Can anyone confirm?

  5. isabelle Says:

    hmm, and yet it looks like the Pennines got in there somewhere though,or perhaps that’s just me, but I saw a rocky outcrop , a sort of Top Withins on acid or a hell inspired fury, a crumbling cavern.

    ( as for the accents, I agree , you want to try crossing the Pennines, a Yorkshire accent is so much easier to decipher )

  6. Wellington Says:

    Cat – yes, I can confirm that your ex-boyfriend could indeed achieve orgasm by rubbing his nose.

    Strangely though, when he rubbed my nose, there was no orgasm for either party. Just a mild sense of irritation.

  7. Wellington Says:

    By the way, Not Keith, I hate to come over all pseudo-psychiatrist on you, but your dad is suffering from depression. He might not even feel depressed, but he’s got it. You can bet your bottom on that. I’ve been through a remarkably similar episode with my own parents recently – a house move late in life, a bout of illness, and then an inability to concentrate on anything except endless daytime tv. You know what fixed it all in the end? (No, of course you don’t). A dog. I shit you not. A stupid little puppy dog. Now, they have to get out of the house to walk the dog, talk to other dog people and think about things other than their television set.

    Incidentally, the North is so much better than London in many ways. But it takes a while to get used to it. And Burnley’s not really a good place to start, but don’t worry about that for now. It does have The Mechanics http://www.burnleymechanics.co.uk/ I saw Jeremy Hardy there last year – quite fabulous. You could go and watch Simon Day next month. But try not to look too Southern. They don’t take kindly to that type of thing….

  8. Catofstripes Says:

    Wellington, I’m so glad it’s not just me!

  9. Selena Says:

    @Cat-Oh I’m not asking if we humans can find them attractive- that’s an obvious one… Dr. Spock was attractive. I was asking if a Vulcan can feel sexy- I think they can’t- because of the whole “no emotions” thing…

    His nose, really? What a lucky man!
    In fact, that little tid bit makes me horrifically jealous- that’s entirely not fair! πŸ˜›

    If I could do that I would purposefully have both of my hands occupied so I could ask those unsuspecting guys I’m attracted to, to scratch my nose… They’d never know the huge service they’d be doing.
    Oh shoot!
    That’s evil and wrong, right? Damn!

  10. Catofstripes Says:

    >> I was asking if a Vulcan can feel sexy <<

    Don’t they come into must or something every seven years? I bet they feel sexy then. Or am I revealing too much about my sad geekdom.

    As for the man with the nose, he needed some compensations since he was sadly lacking in other respects. πŸ™‚

    And it would be evil and wrong, but what’s the problem there.

  11. notkeith Says:

    Betty: I can’t, and I’m having panic attacks trying to guess. If it’s wanking-related you can keep it.

    Amanda: don’t get me started on the pies. Haffner’s Pies! Chicken and mushroom yummers.

    Selena: what’s wrong with blue eye shadow?

    Catofstripes: an orgasm by rubbing his nose? You can’t begin to imagine how intrigued I am by this. To the point where my nose now resembles Michael Jackson’s.

    isabelle: you’re right about the accents. But it’s not just that; it’s the words as well. “Agate” means “saying” round here, apparently, as in “I were agate” meaning “I was saying.”

    Wellington: I’d figured he’s depressed. Mrs Hall said as much in a previous comments thread. I like the idea of a dog. I’ve always liked dogs, whereas Stan’s a cat fancier. I’ve been past the Mechanics a couple of time. It’s sort of in the town centre I think. I shall check it out.

    As for the Star Trek debate, I’m afraid you’re all going to have to sit on the naughty step for that.

  12. Selena Says:

    Nothing, I suppose- if your into that thing- actually, blue eye shadow can look rather lovely…..I guess I’m just bothered by the way you applied to to her face.

    Well I shall be sitting with my face to the wall on the naughty step for my participation in the Star Trek discussion… @Cat- Yeah every seven years- I think I’m about ready for a Vulcan-esque rampage myself ;-)- OK, OK, enough- back to facing the wall.

Leave a Reply

