hinterland

16 Responses to “hinterland”

  1. isabelle Says:

    The North’s not so bad, really, I promise.

    ( there’s moors and all sorts of stuff )

  2. Selena Says:

    The only way to know whether or not you’ll like it, is to move and see how it works out, and since you’ll be living for free- it’s not like you have the financials to worry about. I think this is a well reasoned solution to your current situation.

    Or

    You could just spend every last cent you have on the Lotto, in hopes that you are made independently wealthy; but I’d say the odds are better with choice #1.

    Burnley can’t be all that bad, they have 10 pin bowling and such. It’s a mecca of art and culture- plus, it now has vending machines with the best wine and most sticky, purple haired, cyrstalized, greenery in the world- (I obviously have no idea what I’m talking about-and made all this up.) so, quit being a metropolitan snob. πŸ˜‰ Wine and battered things compliment each other well.

    Also, since Isabelle says there are Moores, roundabouts. I’m looking forward to your series of sketches and perhaps paintings, entitled Blades of Grass & Also, Heather Shrubs #0-15.

    OK- Really though, this is a good choice and I’m sure you and Bete will see eachother still and I can’t wait to see the canvas. I loved working with acrylics- they’re a lot more versatile then I had originally thought and too me were way easier to work with than oils.

    Have a great weekend.

  3. notkeith Says:

    isabelle: Thanks. I intend to make a decent go of it and keep an open mind.

    Selena: Consider my snobbery canned. I’m feeling rather optimistic, actually. After being an utterly tedious, moping arse for the past few days. Perhaps it’s the promise of a drugs-filled weekend that’s raising my spirits. Yay for drugs!

  4. Amanda Says:

    I hate to be the voice of doom, but I’m just back from visiting my family who live near Burnley and it was horrendous.The BNP are everywhere, and I saw more open, rampant racism in three days than I’ve seen in the past twenty years.

    Sorry, sorry….I know you don’t need to hear this, but I’m quite worried about you – I only read a handful of blogs and yours and Stan’s are two of my favourites.Poor Stan – can’t you take him with you?

    I wish you all the luck in the world, and hope everything works out, but be careful.Avoid bus stations at night, they’re a popular meeting place for racist tossers.And never, ever wear orange.

  5. Selena Says:

    I’m glad…Hold up! Racists, BNP party members… you are not to consort with them- wait…no- no, Yes you are not to consort with them… I guess this means that I shall never be able to visit Beautiful Burnley; Bountiful Burnley; Burning Brightly Burnley, because:
    1) orange is my most favorite color (no it’s not)
    2) my skin tone is black as blackest night (no it’s not- it’s more cinnamon- but still same diff. right?)
    3) I’m American (I can’t deny this one- dang!)

    those are all bad things to the BNP, right?

    And I was soooo looking forward to battered food, bingo and ten pin bowling- Shoot!

    I swear it’s like my fingers hate me, please excuse the extra ‘o’, in too, on my last post. Ahh, to hell with it- you are probably used to it by now.

    And I will also Hurrah for drugas…:-) and good luck in Burnley.

  6. Mrs. Hall Says:

    Wierd blogger coincidence we have going on here. Both moving back to our parents (or your Dad/Slyvia’s). And we are both trying to think positive and make a decent go of it. But for very different, yet sometimes the same reasons. Moving back I mean.

    Unfortunately my chance to use drugs has long since past, what with the kids and the random drug testing and all. so have some for me! πŸ™‚

    Well, my real life image is up on my blog under the heading ‘goodbye mrs. palin, take care’.

    By all means, feel free to use that as inspiration for any of art needs.

    Take care NotKeith

    πŸ™‚

    Mrs. Hall

  7. Alex Alex Says:

    I studied at Salford and it was great, but then I had Manchester city centre on my doorstep – if I hadn’t, it would have been a very different five years. But Burnley sounds a bit more thriving and less skint. I love the North, I just don’t love having to make sure I’ve got my back to a wall before I dare call anyone on my mobile.

    Have a chip barm for me! Can you stick Bete in your suitcase? Apart from anything else, it’d be fun to sabotage his diet.

  8. BΓͺte de Jour Says:

    Bah. It’ll all be over by Christmas.

  9. Fat Hobbit Girl Says:

    (I’m not being Alex Alex any more because it’s totally unrelated to the name of my actual blog. And I’m back to say that I bought a scanner! And now I’m shutting up again.)

  10. Mrs. Hall Says:

    I really enjoy the monster attacking the city. MONSTER EAT CITY!!

    Even the seemingly silly drawings are treasures.

    MONSTERS!!!!! RAWWRRR!!!!!!!

  11. Selena Says:

    Maybe the monster is scared and just trying to get the hell out of the city, to the lovely green field that lies beyond and UNFORTUNATELY, due to his size, some structural damage just happened to occur. People are just misunderstanding him…..

    Or he could just be paying homage to Godzilla and being all “Monster-y”

    MONSTERS!!!!! RAWWRRR!!!!!!! πŸ˜‰

  12. Anonymous Says:

    Amanda: Yikes, you make it sound like it’s under some sort of military rule or something. Like I’m walking into Children of Men. Eek.

    Selena: Hurrah for drugs indeed. Hurrah! And hurrah for cinnamon.

    Mrs H: Random drug tests are SO an invasion of your privacy and a violation of your civil rights. Next time, you should take the tester hostage until the government agrees to not test you. Then take lots of lovely drugs. And “Even the seemingly silly drawings are treasures” is a lovely thing to say – thank you.

    Alex Alex Fat Hobbit Girl: I like your house head picture. It reminds me of Mattias Adolffson. Chip barm clarification: the weird thing about Burnley is they call barms (or baps, or rolls) “teacakes”. You ask for a chip teacake. They’re big on correcting you when you ask for a barm, too. They look at you like they’ve never even heard the word before. And don’t get me started on “agate”.

    Selena again: It’s totalling the city. It’s a monster, and it goes RAWWRRRRR!!!! That’s a four exclamation mark roar.

  13. notkeith Says:

    Holy fuck. That last comment was me. I forgot to log in first. I am twat. That is all.

  14. Fat Hobbit Girl Says:

    A chip…teacake? Hmmmm.

    What do they call teacakes, then?

  15. Gianna Says:

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am
    impressed! Very helpful information specially the last part πŸ™‚
    I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain info for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.

  16. kΓΈb rosenrod Says:

    Heya just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

Leave a Reply

