Keith and Stan and the Ghost of Pablo

14 Responses to “Keith and Stan and the Ghost of Pablo”

  1. Misssy M Says:

    Great drawing. The handcuffs….don’t remember those in the original. Nice touch.

  2. isabelle Says:

    oooo I like this , very noir and Edward Hopperish, the sky and Stan look so forboding.

  3. Selena Says:

    why are you not in a dress??- You put stan in the same outfit…

    I like it. It’s like the original- but without the oppulent feel- and definately more dark and broody.

    Perhaps Bete should look more pouty-less menacing. Upon looking at it-I think that’s what I liked about the first one; Ossie Clark’s pouty face.

    Also, what’s Bete looking at? He’s not looking at the viewer, which gives this piece a more unwelcoming feel than the original.

    I’m intrigued by the picture/painting on the wall.

  4. notkeith Says:

    Misssy: Thank you. Just gave a heartfelt “ewww” at your story about the Brazilian artist guy over at Betty’s place.

    isabelle: Glad you like it. And you said it was Edward Hopperish. In the words of Dina Carroll, don’t be a stranger.

    Selena: I am in a dress, just not in the picture. I jest. It’s not the weekend yet. I thought Ossie looked positively coquettish in the original, which wouldn’t have done for Stan, really. Stan’s right about him maybe looking a bit too light and a bit too brooding; but he is that handsome.

    Oh, and the picture on the wall: I believe it’s The Rake’s Progress in the original. It’s possibly its modern equivalent in my attempt.

  5. Selena Says:

    Well as long as you wear dresses on the weekend- everyone likes to feel pretty.

    Oh, I think Stan is a horrible flirt…and could, most likely, pull of the pouty look of a coqueter. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Coquettish-That word always makes me think โ€œDr. Heideggerโ€™s Experiment.โ€

    Handsome- yes, shoeless and most handsome.

    Edward Hopper…maybe in it’s dark- noir-ishness (perfectly acceptable word) and the window, but other than that- I don’t really see it. It’s interesting though and I will undoubtedly go home and compare yours to his. Maybe, it could be Hopper/Rockwell-esque (not coca-cola Rockwell)…maybe.

    Can’t wait to see more work.

  6. Valerie in San Diego Says:

    I love this picture, especially the detail on your pants pocket and the expressions on both of your faces.

    I’m forced to use modem interfaces to the Internet pretty much annually, when I spend a month at my mother-in-law’s house in rural Australia. Mobile phone can just be one step slower.. though it would be less vulnerable to a rural Australian tractor knocking over a telephone pole, which also appears to happen pretty much annually.

  7. Mrs. Hall Says:

    Interesting piece. Interesting use of color.

    I read your bio over at Bete’s blog. Very interesting the time off we both took from our respective mediums.

    I believe we (or at least you) are a better artist for it.

    Welcome back to art of letting your freak fly through art.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Mrs. Hall

  8. nursemyra Says:

    pablo looks very solid for a ghost. he must have made quite an impresssion ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. notkeith Says:

    Selena: I need to pull my finger out and do some.

    Valerie: I looked again at the pocket after you mentioned it and noticed it looked a bit like a mean face. Entirely unintentional

    Mrs H: I hope for my freak to get frequent flier miles.

    nursemyra: Now wholly replaced in Stan’s affections by Smudge. He’s a fickle one.

  10. Mrs. Hall Says:

    Me too.

  11. Selena Says:

    Please do pull your finger out from wherever it is ( there’s no need to share it’s location) and get to it then ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Selena Says:

    mattias adolfson!!!!- thank you

  13. keavy Says:

    is that withnail and marwood in the pic? love your drawings!

  14. notkeith Says:

    Hello! Yes it is. Glad you like the pics.

Leave a Reply

